What Is A Chakras

What Are The 7 Chakras And What Do They Mean?

There are seven energy centers or chakras in our body that are aligned along the spine, starting from its base to the top of the head. We find the chakra word in the Sanskrit language, which means ‘wheel’. These wheels or chakras aren’t very huge, they are of a lotus size neither too big nor too small. They are continuously moving at their own pace while absorbing and distributing energies whenever and wherever required.

Where Do Chakras Come From?

Chakras are part of an ancient Indian system that was first introduced in the religious texts of the Vedas in India. Dating back to around 1500BC, this energy system has stood the test of time, with many still using the knowledge to this day. My goal for you today is to introduce you to the chakras and to give you a little insight on why you would want to do inner work on keeping them healthy and the energy freely flowing.

We associate each chakra with specific internal organs of the body or different parts of the body. They coordinate and govern their functioning. These chakras gain energy from light, sound, and different activities which we perform throughout the day and then dispense that energy to the internal organs or different parts of the body. When these chakras are spinning in a clockwise direction, they are distributing their energy to their respective internal organs or different parts of the body and when they are spinning in anti-clockwise direction, then they are gaining energy from the external world. It’s important to maintain balance in these chakras if they are energy-deprived, then their closure can lead to upheaval at a physical and emotional level. If they are excessive in energy, then they can disrupt normal functioning and lead to chaos in an individual’s life. 

Let’s lean about these seven chakras

Muladhara Chakra (Root Chakra)

The first chakra is ‘Muladhara Chakra’, it lies at the lower end of the spinal column. We also know it as ‘Root Chakra’ as it lies at the base of the spine. In men, it is in the perineum while in women it lies in the cervical area. It represents the element ‘Earth’ and the color of the chakra is ‘Red’. It provides strength to the legs, feet, spine, and large intestine. This chakra provides safety, security, and lots of happiness. It also provides solid support to the body, which is essential for good health.    

Sacral Chakra or Svadhisthana Chakra

This chakra is between the lower abdomen and lower back area of your body. To be precise it lies in the pelvic region a few inches below the belly button. It represents the element ‘Water’ and the color of the chakra is ‘Orange’. We associate it with hips, womb, bladder, lower back, and kidneys. This chakra balances emotional behaviour. It helps us to become more adaptable and receptive to the surroundings around us. This chakra unwinds the stress and tension from the body.   

MuladhaManipura Chakra (Solar Plexus). 

It lies a few inches above the navel. It governs the digestion system and strengthens our immunity (protects us from various ailments or diseases). Once we balance and energize this chakra, then we will gain confidence, determination, dedication, and compassion. It represents the element ‘Fire’ and the color of the chakra is ‘Yellow’. If we are deficient in energy in this chakra, then we become aggressive and obstinate. It is important to keep this chakra balanced, then we won’t suffer from any eating disorders. If our digestive system is good, then our body gains health and happiness

Anahata Chakra (Heart Chakra)

The fourth chakra lies in the center of the chakra system. We consider it as the core of our soul. In our body, it is in the center of the chest. It is not located exactly on the heart organ. It represents the element ‘Air’ and the color of the chakra is ‘Green’. Fill this chakra with unconditional love for all the surrounding beings. Your life is going to be full of happiness and joy. Never corrupt your chakra with deceit, lies, or false beliefs and you will experience pure love and care for others. 

Vishuddha Chakra

As we ascend through the chakra system, Vishuddha Chakra is the fifth chakra of the system. We associate it with turquoise blue and it represents the element ‘sound’. It is in the throat region and also governs the neck, jaw, and mouth. It conveys our thoughts, ideas,and innermost feeling to the outside world.This chakra is also responsible for the way we express ourselves. Since it manages the rhythm of music, it also maneuvres vibrations of singing and the essence of dancing. Vishuddha means ‘purification’ that’s what this chakra does. It eliminates the negativity from the mind and body.

Ajna Chakra (Third Eye Chakra)

The third eye chakra is the sixth chakra in the chakra system. It is located in between the eyebrows, also named ‘Shiva’s eye’ and extends to the brain’s spinal gland. It influences the activity of the brain, eyes, ears, and nose. We should try to energize and balance the Ajna Chakra as it keeps our mind calm, develops trust and confidence within us as it enhances the power of imagination and visualization, leading us towards creative brilliance. This chakra is unique as it is the command center of all the elements and the color of the chakra is ‘Indigo’. This chakra helps us in achieving our goals and attaining genuine success in life.

Sahasrara Chakra (Crown Chakra) 

Sahasrara Chakra is a seventh chakra where the entire energy of the chakra system eventually culminates. It governs the various activities of the brain which influences intelligence, memory, and focus. Primarily, it takes care of the ‘cerebrum’ which is the upper part of the brain. It represents the element ‘thought’ or ‘will’ and as far as color is concerned some teachers associate it with ‘white’ and some with ‘violet’.It is located at the crown of the head and monitors our thought process that is why it is also called Crown Chakra. It has the power to keep us connected with the divine cosmic energy of the universe.

Chakra (cakra in Sanskrit) means “wheel” and refers to energy points in your body. They are thought to be spinning disks of energy that should stay “open” and aligned, as they correspond to bundles of nerves, major organs, and areas of our energetic body that affect our emotional and physical well-being.

Why It’s Important to Regularly Balance Your Chakras?

All types of energy flow through your chakras, positive and negative alike. Unfortunately, chakras can store negative energy, which blocks the overall flow between the chakras. This may cause some to get more or less energy, making them under- or overactive. An imbalanced energy flow can affect your emotions, thought processes, and physical health.

Here a just a few of the many benefits of Chakra balancing:

  • Get in touch with intuition
  • Become self-confident and able to manifest your desires
  • More focus
  • Feel more grounded and safer in the world
  • Release blocked emotional energy
  • Be compassionate and loving, with healthy relationships
  • Improved Self-esteem and self confidence
  • More spiritual and better connection with the divine
Posted in